Last Update: August 6, 2023
- Smokable hemp flower is prohibited for sale and use as an end product in Utah. Possession of raw CBD flower is limited to people who have a license.
- It’s not recommended to order CBD flower online if you live in Utah. You can get smokable hemp online even without a medical card, but smoking it is prohibited in this state.
- Medical cannabis holders are also not allowed to smoke cannabis. Vaping is the only inhalation method allowed by the state for card holders.
- An age requirement of 21 years and above for hemp products with any THC took effect in 2023.
- Food infused with CBD is not allowed in this state.
Is Hemp Flower Legal in Utah?
Smokable hemp products with less than 0.3% THC are not legal in Utah.
In 2022, the state passed HB 385, which makes it unlawful for “any person to produce, sell, or use a cannabinoid product that is smokable flower.”
Only licensed businesses can possess, distribute, and sell raw hemp flower in Utah. Under state law, the distribution or marketing of hemp flower as a final product to consumers is prohibited. Therefore, it’s unlawful for dispensaries and other retail stores to carry and sell smokable hemp flower.
The state legalized hemp under SB 105, which amended provisions related to industrial hemp. Governor Herbert signed the bill into law in March 2019.
Under Utah’s law, “industrial hemp” means any part of a cannabis plant, whether growing or not, with a concentration of less than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol by dry weight .
With recent changes in legislation that took effect in May of 2023, hemp-derived cannabinoid products with any concentration of THC or a THC analog (delta 8, for example) are limited to adults 21 years and over. Retail stores selling them must ask for a government-issued ID from the consumer.
Where to Buy Hemp Flower in Utah?
It’s best to avoid buying hemp flower in Utah as the state has prohibited the sale and possession of smokable hemp and hemp flower in its raw form. If the laws change, Mr. Hemp Flower will be here to serve your needs.
USPS Allows Shipping Hemp — In Small Quantities
After the 2018 Farm Bill, USPS allows shipping of small quantities of hemp. To comply with the agency’s rules, we include lab analysis report and notice to law enforcement in each package — a confirmation you are getting a legal product (hemp flower with less than 0.3% THC) shipped to your home.
Utah Hemp Flower for Sale
You can legally order USA grown hemp flower with less than 0.3% THC from Mr. Hemp Flower. All of our products are pesticide-free and non-GMO.
We work directly with US-licensed farmers who have years of experience in cultivating CBD rich hemp flower.
We make all of our products using hemp grown in the best farms in Oregon, Washington State, and Colorado.
High CBD Hemp Flower
Why Choose Mr. Hemp Flower?
We deliver your hemp flower within 3 business days — or less — straight to your door. You don’t have to wait weeks before enjoying the benefits of hemp flower or hemp smokeables.
First of all, the order got here two days EARLY, which was great. Second, I was extremely happy with the product. “ – Christopher
Fresh Products Only
Join hundreds of hemp enthusiasts who get to taste fresh hemp flower and hemp smokables. A third-party, independent lab tests all of our products.
“I’ve been extremely pleased with the Special Sauce pre-rolls I have used. I find it very relaxing and calming. I also have not had any drowsiness nor jitters from it.” – Harry A.
Avoid Using Hemp Smokables in Public
After the 2018 Farm Bill, hemp is no longer a controlled substance in the US, but we don’t recommend using hemp smokables in public.
Hemp resembles marijuana, and law enforcement can’t distinguish between the two. If you get caught smoking hemp in public, law enforcement is likely to enforce marijuana laws.
Utah’s Hemp Program
The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF) provided the identification, cultivation, processing, testing, and distribution of hemp products until 2022.
In a 2022 legislative session, UDAF decided to pass on the responsibility of regulating and licensing hemp cultivators.
Application for a license to grow hemp is now under the United States Department of Agriculture. Yet, other roles are still fulfilled by the Utah DAF .
Is CBD Oil Legal in Utah?
Hemp-derived CBD oil with less than 0.3% THC is legal to possess and use in Utah.
Under HB 385, it’s unlawful to produce, sell, or use a cannabinoid product that’s “added to a conventional food or beverage.”
Therefore, adding cannabinoids to food and beverages is prohibited in Utah.
Utah’s hemp law makes a distinction between “industrial hemp product” and “cannabinoid product.”
Industrial hemp product means a product derived from, or made by, processing industrial hemp plants or industrial hemp parts.
The law doesn’t state which products are considered hemp products, but we can assume it includes both non-consumable and consumable hemp products. “Cannabinoid products” is a category that falls under “industrial hemp product class.”
Under HB 277, which went into effect on May 3rd 2023, cannabinoid product means a product that:
- contains or is represented to contain one or more naturally occurring cannabinoids; and
- contains less than the cannabinoid product THC level by dry weight; and
- contains a combined amount of total THC and any THC analog that does not exceed 10% of the total cannabinoid content; and
- does not exceed a total THC and any THC analog that is greater than 5 mg per serving and 150 mg per package.
Utah allows medical cannabis for individuals with a medical cannabis card. The card would be required to purchase medical cannabis from a pharmacy.
Individuals with this card are allowed to vape cannabis material, but they are not allowed to smoke it .
FAQs on Hemp Flower Utah State Laws
How much hemp flower can you purchase at once (or one time) in Utah?
Utah doesn’t limit the quantity of hemp flower you can purchase at once or one time in the state.
Do you need a special license to purchase hemp flower in Utah?
To buy and sell hemp flower in its raw state, you must be licensed with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. It’s illegal to buy, possess, and use smokable hemp flower in Utah as a regular consumer.
Is it legal to sell hemp flower in Utah?
Only licensed individuals can buy or sell raw floral material. The state doesn’t approve and register smokable flower, rolled joints, hemp cigarettes, etc.
Is CBD from hemp legal in Utah?
Hemp CBD with less than 0.3% THC is legal in Utah. The state Department of Agriculture and Food registers various hemp products, including CBD oil.
Where can you buy hemp flower in Utah?
While you can buy smokable hemp flower online in Utah, you are not allowed to smoke it.
Is CBD oil legal in Utah?
Yes, CBD oil is legal in Utah. The state allows the sale of hemp-derived CBD oil only if the product is registered with the Department of Agriculture and Food and properly labeled.